event-calender Jul - 2022
event-location In Person

Microland sponsors Namma Bengaluru Awards

The 12th edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards was held on Friday, 29th July 2022, in Bengaluru to recognize the efforts of our COVID-19 warriors. The Namma Bengaluru Awards is an effort to recognize, honour, and celebrate such outstanding individuals and their contribution towards making Bengaluru city a better place to live in. These awards truly are the city’s way of saying ‘Thank You’ to its real heroes. This initiative also encourages citizens to emulate the efforts of these heroes to make meaningful differences to the lives of fellow Bengalureans.

The Chief Guest for the Awards ceremony was the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri Basavaraj S. Bommai, along with the Minister of Health & Family Welfare, Government of Karnataka, Dr. K. Sudhakar.

Pradeep Kar with the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Karnataka Shri Basavaraj S. Bommai

The Namma Bengaluru Awards was instituted in 2009 by Shri Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Founder Trustee, and the Union Minister of State for Electronics and Information Technology and Union Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, with the aim to celebrate the exceptional men, women, and children operating silently in the shadows, striving to make Bengaluru a better place to live for all of us.

The ongoing pandemic has brought forward some of the bravest and kindest people amongst us. These soldiers of humanity have shown us that we are not alone in this fight, and they have been by our side in these dark hours. The 2021 Namma Bengaluru Awards was dedicated to these health warriors, to recognize and honour the contributions of these individuals, groups, and organizations under various categories who have worked valiantly during this period going above and beyond their call of duty.

With Microland being one of the two presenting sponsors and our Chief Microlander, Pradeep Kar, being the Chairman of the Jury Panel, there were more reasons than one for Microlanders to be proud of.

Pradeep Kar addressing the gathering. Seated on the stage are the Hon’ble Chief Minister of Karnataka Shri Basavaraj S. Bommai and Minister of Health & Family Welfare, Government of Karnataka, Dr K Sudhakar with the Jury Members.

Lighting of the lamp 

To select these amazing Bengalureans, an eminent jury comprising of celebrated Bengalureans from all walks of life went through their work and then decided on the final winner after a rigorous selection process. This was done to ensure fairness and transparency.

The nine-member jury which included Dr Sudarshan Ballal (Director of Manipal Institute of Nephrology and Urology, Chairman of the Medical Advisory Board of Manipal Hospitals Group and Senate Member of Manipal University), Dr Vishal Rao (Oncology Surgeon and the Chief of Head & Neck Surgical Oncology & Robotic Surgery at HCG Cancer Centre, Bangalore), Dr Vivek Padegal (Director, Pulmonary Diseases, Fortis Hospitals), Shrimati Anitha Reddy (Founder Trustee, AVAS), Shri Sanjay Prabhu (Director, Asianet News Network) along with Chief Microlander, Pradeep Kar, selected the exceptional individuals as the winners in different categories.

With the Award Winners

  1. The Namma Bengalurean of the Year – Dr. Ravindra Mehta (Chief of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at Apollo Hospitals, Bangalore)
  2. Healthcare Professional of the Year – Dr. Bhaskar Rajakumar (Nodal Officer at BBMP COVID-19 War-Room) and Dr. Sunil Karnath (Chairman & Consultant Intensivist at Manipal Hospital, Bengaluru
  3. Frontline Worker of the Year – Shri Shouri Raju & Shri Anthony Kutty Swamy (Fifth-generation grave diggers, who live inside the Kalpalli crematorium premises)
  4. Social Work Organization of the Year – Mercy Mission/Mercy Angels
  5. Social Work Individual of the Year – Shri Arjun S
  6. Healthcare Professional of the year (Posthumous) – Late Dr K V Amarnath, Sreenidhi Health Centre
  7. Social Work Junior Individual of the Year (Under 21) – Shri K. Venugopal
Something on your mind?